Subsection 1.—Dominion Public Lands.*

As stated on p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book, the lands and other natural resources lying within the boundaries of the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia, which had formerly been administered by the Dominion Government, were transferred in 1930 to the administration of the provinces concerned.

The public lands remaining under the administration of the Dominion Government now comprise lands in the Northwest Territories, including the Arctic archipelago and the islands in Hudson strait and bay; lands in Yukon Territory; National Parks (see pp. 53-57) and historic sites; Indian reserves (see p. 1031); Ordnance and Admiralty lands; and, in general, all lands held by the several departments of the Dominion Government for various purposes connected with Dominion administration.

The great bulk of the land areas under Dominion administration are those of the Yukon and Northwest Territories, amounting to about 936,680,000 acres or 42 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. In general the southern border of both the Yukon and Northwest Territories is 60° N. latitude. In Europe, Oslo, Stockholm, and Leningrad are near this line, and about three-fourths of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, all of Finland and a large proportion of Russia are north of it. This northern part of the national domain is under the administration of the Lands, Parks and Forests Branch of the Department of Mines and Resources. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout the Yukon and Northwest Territories. More detailed particulars of the administration of each territory follow:—

The Northwest Territories.—The government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner, and a Council of five members appointed by the Governor General in Council, with Ottawa as the seat of government. The Territories are subdivided for administrative purposes into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin, and Franklin. The District of Mackenzie is the most widely known and developed, trading posts and settlements being located all along the great stretch of inland waterways known as the Mackenzie system.

The administrative headquarters for the Mackenzie District is located at Fort Smith on the Slave river, immediately north of the Alberta provincial boundary. From this point there is uninterrupted navigation to the Arctic ocean, a distance of 1,300 miles, and along the Arctic coast as far east as King William island.

The Administration provides for a medical and nursing service, assists the Anglican and Roman Catholic missions in providing educational and hospital facilities, and cares for the general welfare of the population of the Territories. The population of the Territories at the time of the 1931 Census was 9,723.

Areas, totalling over 514,587 square miles, have been set aside as preserves wherein only the resident Indians, Eskimos and half-breeds may hunt. The Wood-Buffalo Park in the vicinity of Fort Smith, which covers an area of 17,300 square miles (a portion of which is in Alberta), has been reserved specially for the protection of buffalo. The Thelon Game Sanctuary to the east of Great Slave lake, which was set aside primarily to aid in the conservation of musk-oxen, provides sanctuary for all species of game. Under the Northwest Game Act, musk-oxen may not be killed anywhere in the Northwest Territories.

^{*} Prepared under the direction of R. A. Gibson, Director, Lands, Parks and Forests Branch, Department of Mines and Resources, Ottawa.